You may remove a friend at any time via your friends list. The former friend will never be notified that you have removed him or her.
Swipe right to reveal the "Delete" button. Selecting delete will remove that member from your Friends list.
Press and hold on any number of friends in your friend list. Once you have made these selections, you can choose to remove them using the delete icon at the top of the screen.