Help Center - Frequently Asked Questions
Messages
  1. If a thread in your Sent folder is listed as "Unread," that means it contains at least one message that your conversation partner has not yet read. Once he or she opens the thread, its status will become "Read."

    Note that even if the message recipient marks the thread as unread, this will not reset the status displayed to the sender. The "Mark Unread" feature only affects the recipient's inbox.
  2. Go to your Sent folder and find the thread. If it is listed as "Unread," that means it contains at least one message that your conversation partner has not yet read. Once he or she opens the thread, its status will become "Read."

    Note that even if the message recipient marks the thread as unread, this will not reset the status displayed to the sender. The "Mark Unread" feature only affects the recipient's inbox.
  3. You save a message by marking it as Flagged. Saved messages are now Flagged Messages in the new Messages system. They are included within your Inbox, but if you want to see Flagged messages only, you can do so within your Flagged folder.
  4. Flagging a message will save that message. It also adds a visual reminder that you want to read or reply to that message later. The red flag allows you to find the message easily. Flagged messages appear in the Inbox, but if you want to see Flagged messages only, you can do so within the Flagged folder.
  5. You probably have some old unread messages -- potentially very old messages that you had saved before we moved to the new Messages system. We will be updating these old saved messages to be considered "read."

    From now on, however, the New Messages action item will be an accurate count of all unread threads in your Inbox, even if you have an unread thread on page 10 or beyond. Please be sure to check your messages often and actively read and/or delete them.

    One possible strategy if you fall behind: Flag the messages you want to keep, then use the "Delete All" tool on the lower left-hand corner of your Inbox to delete all unflagged threads and clean up your Inbox.
  6. It depends.

    If the message appears to be spam (for example, if the message includes advertisements for another site or a solicitation for a conversation on a third-party instant messenger), click the "Mark Spam" link at the bottom left-hand corner. This will delete the message and report the sender to MeetMe so that we may take further action.

    If the message appears to be from another real user of MeetMe, but you simply do not want to communicate with that user, click the "Block" link at the bottom left-hand corner. This will delete the message and prevent that user from sending you any additional messages.

    Finally, if the message appears to be from a real user but includes highly objectionable material, click the Report Abuse icon at the top right corner of the page. Make sure to include as much detail as possible in your report, including the full text of the message you received.
  7. When viewing a message from that friend, click the "All Messages From..." link on the lower right-hand corner of the message. This will bring you to a version of the Inbox that displays only messages from that particular friend.
  8. The white icon () that appears on some photos in your Messages folders indicates which users are your friends. This allows you to quickly scan your Inbox for messages from people who are already your MeetMe friends, if you so choose.
  9. The Trash folder is emptied rather quickly, so make sure that you really want to delete a thread before you move it to the Trash!
  10. Use the "Delete All" tool on the lower left-hand corner of your Inbox to delete all unflagged threads.

    To delete all Flagged messages, go into your Flagged folder, then click the same "Delete All" link.
  11. There are a few different ways. You can still send a message by navigating to that friend's profile and using the message box under his or her photo. The blue Messages icons within the Friends section will also do the job, as they did before.

    With the new Messages system, you can also go to the Compose page and start typing a friend's name. Once you've typed a few characters, a drop-down menu will appear, containing a list of the friends whose names match what you have typed. Select the friend you want, enter your subject and message, and click Send!
Using MeetMe
MeetMe Applications and Features
Ads and Business Solutions
Type of Inquiry:
Report Abuse: If you need to report inappropriate content or behavior you have observed on MeetMe, do not submit feedback here. Instead, click the icon on the top right-hand corner of the page containing the inappropriate material.
Top 10 Questions
  1. MeetMe is, simply put, where friends meet! MeetMe uses an array of social discovery applications in order to connect you to our incredible and friendly members, making us the best place to make friends and meet new people near you!
  2. MeetMe is different from other social networks. On MeetMe, you can:

    • Browse Locals to meet great people near you
    • Find out what everyone's up to in the Feed
    • Earn Lunch Money playing dozens of Games
    • And play many more social games!

    So, jump right in, set up your Profile, and find some new friends in your area with Browse People!
  3. Go to the Forgot Password page and enter your email address. Instructions for resetting your password will be emailed to you.
  4. You can download the official MeetMe app for iPhone and iPod from the iTunes store.
  5. You can download the official MeetMe app for Android from the Google Play store.
  6. The Spotlight consists of three features you can activate with MeetMe Credits, all of which are designed to help you meet more people faster (and get a hefty popularity boost, too).

    With the Homepage Spotlight, you can put your photo and a brief message on everyone's homepage, resulting in lots of profile visitors and friend requests while you're featured there.

    Match Spotlight helps you get more views in Match, which means more potential secret admirers seeing you and more of them clicking "Yes" on you!

    You can also promote your feed posts with Live Feed Spotlight. Just click the "Make #1!" button under one of your own posts, and it will be pinned to the top of Live Feed for people who may be interested in you!
  7. Here are just a few of the things you can do with Credits, with more coming soon ...

    • Homepage Spotlight -- Put yourself on top of the homepage for everyone to see! You'll be front and center for everyone that uses MeetMe and see your profile views skyrocket!
    • Match Spotlight -- Get to the front of the line! You'll have priority in Match, substantially increasing the number of secret admirers you get. Could this be the start of something special?
    • Live Feed Spotlight -- Have something to say you want everyone to see? A spotlighted Live Feed post will be stuck to the top of the Feed for everyone to see. Get more comments than ever and create a great discussion!
  8. MeetMe profiles by default are available for other members of the MeetMe community to view. To restrict who can view your profile, click on the Settings icon in the upper right-hand corner of the page. Within "Privacy" is the setting "Who can view my profile?" Choose your desired level of privacy, then make sure to click the "Save" button to confirm your selection.
  9. To access your Block List, click on the Settings icon in the upper right-hand corner of any page. Within "Privacy," click the "See which users you have blocked" link. You'll then see a list of everyone you've blocked; each one has a "Remove block" link so that you can unblock them if you choose.

    To go directly to your Block list, click here now.
  10. Back in 2005, we started myYearbook in our high school as a way to make new friends. Today, people of all ages use it for the same purpose: we're now the largest service for meeting new people in the United States, and we're growing fast in many other countries too.

    Yet the name "myYearbook" makes most people think of reconnecting with old classmates, not making new friends. So at long last, we decided to change the name to something that says what our service really means, even to people who haven't used it yet.

    MeetMe was the clear winner over hundreds of other potential names, based on feedback from many thousands of members. Everything you love about myYearbook will still be at MeetMe -- you may not even notice a difference!